200 Years of Greek Independence Virtual Celebration Highlights

During Sunday’s virtual celebration, co-chaired by Emmanuella Lambropoulos, MP for Saint-Laurent, and Julie Dabrusin, MP for Toronto-Danforth, MPs were given the opportunity to honour Greek Canadian individuals or groups that have made a significant impact in the diaspora. It is with great pride we present to you the “HCGM” moments from the day:

In our first clip, Sherry Romanado, Member of Parliament Longueuil-Charles-LeMoyne, chose to honour our school École Socrates- Démosthène as an example of how diversity enriches society and is the strength of who we are as a country. Also included in this clip is a beautiful rendition of our Canadian National Anthem from an alumni of Socrates- Démosthène, Laetitia Dimopoulos L’Ecuyer and the Greek National Anthem with Platon Omeros alumni Nafsika Baloukas.

In our second clip, Emmanuella Lambropoulos honoured former HCGM President, Nicholas T Pagonis for his achievements and leadership at the helm of the HCGM for more than 10 years.

In our third clip, Emmanuella Lambropoulos honoured the Honorary Chairman of the HCGM Fundraising Committee, Dr. George Tsoukas for his achievements in the medical field and his contributions to Canada’s Greek community.

And in our final clip, Fayçal El-Khoury, MP for Laval Des Iles chose to honour championship fencer and Olympian Joseph Polossifakis, an alumni of Socrates-Demosthene, for his achievements in sports.